Wednesday, 8 September 2010

IMPC Awards

Well over 1000 people attended tonight’s Silver Jubilee Congress Dinner, held in the Convention Centre Ballroom. Sponsored by Sinclair Knight Merz, this was a lavish and enjoyable event, with entertainment by Australian comedians ‘The Three Waiters’.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the IMPC Awards. The IMPC Council Award was made to Prof. Jacques Astier. The first in this series, for outstanding and noteworthy contributions to the activities of the Council and its various activities, was awarded to the late Prof. Nat Arbiter at the last IMPC in Beijing.

The most prestigious award in mineral processing is the IMPC Lifetime Achievement Award and for the first time in its history, this was awarded to two recipients, Prof. Alban Lynch and Prof. Wang Dianzou. There will be a full report on this in MEI Online next week. In the photo below are Robin Batterham (IMPC 2010 President), Cyril O’Connor (IMPC Chairman), Prof. Dianzuo, Prof. Lynch, and Eric Forssberg (past IMPC Chairman).

In the photo below are the winners of the Young Author’s Award, for best presentations by authors under 35 years old. I was personally pleased to see among the award winners Dr. Megan Becker of University of Cape Town, our consultant for Process Mineralogy ’10, and Dr. Kathryn Hadler, of Imperial College, who is also MEI Jon’s girlfriend.

No comments:

Post a Comment

If you have difficulty posting a comment, please email the comment to and I will submit on your behalf